Environment Agency appoints JBA to Ecological Services Framework 3

We’re pleased to announce that we have been awarded a place on the Environment Agency’s Ecological Services Framework 3 (EcoSF3), providing specialist services for habitat design, river restoration, fish passage design, protected species and non-native invasive species (INNS), and working with natural processes.

Bat surveysThe Framework can be used across the full project cycle, from scoping studies, research, project concept development, surveys and evidence gathering through to detailed design and approvals. Working within two Lots of the EcoSF3, we can supply wider catchment management, flood plain improvement and land management measures to help manage flood risk and water quality. The framework can be used to procure surveys, reports and advice for protected species and INNS survey as well as training.

Innovative approach

EcoSF3 requires that the work undertaken ‘acknowledges and utilises where appropriate the latest research thinking’.  We are proud to be pioneering the modelling and implementation of full floodplain reconnection (Stage 0) restoration in the UK, working in collaboration with academic institutions and experienced US specialists in this work. We have developed specialist tools such as IRiS, combining River Habitat and River Corridor surveys, UK Habitats Surveys and Fluvial Audits into one process.

Framework experience

We have been a valued supplier to the Environment Agency for over 15 years, working under its Water and Environment Management (WEM) and predecessor frameworks.

Natural Flood ManagementOur previous appointment to the Environment Agency’s Ecological Services Framework 2 (EcoSF20) in 2014 resulted in the delivery of many notable projects within river restoration, catchment management and nature based solutions, natural flood management studies, Integrated Riparian Surveys (IRiS), fish pass and weir removal design, hydraulic modelling and various ecological surveys.  These included the Working with Natural Processes Evidence Base, numerous river restoration schemes, natural flood management projects and ecological surveys including the 14-mile length of the proposed new River Thames Scheme channel in West London.

We’re excited to be providing ecological service support over the coming years to the Environment Agency, Natural England and Defra-related organisations which include National Park Authorities, River Trusts, Wildlife Trusts and community trusts.

Want to know more?

For more information about how we can assist with your project needs and the appropriateness of the using the EcoSF3 Framework we would be happy to discuss this with you. Our contacts are below:

Name Role Email
Steve Maslen JBA Head of Environment steve.maslen@jbaconsulting.com

 

Rachael Brady JBA EcoSF3 Framework Manager rachael.brady@jbaconsulting.com
Kieran Sheehan Ecology and WFD Assessment kieran.sheehan@jbaconsulting.com
Matt Hemsworth Geomorphology, Weir Removal and River Restoration matthew.hemsworth@jbaconsulting.com
Dorian Latham Ecology and EIA dorian.latham@jbaconsulting.com
Dave Mould Fish passage and weir removal david.mould@jbaconsulting.com

 

Sarah King Ecology sarah.king@jbaconsulting.com
Kate Williams Environmental Management kate.williams@jbaconsulting.com


Leave a Reply